Use FaceTime for Voice-only Calls When Video Stutters or is Problematic

Via osxDaily

Ora che con ios6 é possibile usare FT con la connessione 3G, questo articolo puó essere di aiuto a molti!

If you’ve used FaceTime in an area without the best internet connections you’ve probably experienced the choppy video, breaking audio, and other call difficulties that can arrise as a result of poor internet service. Rather than giving up on the communication completely, you can turn the video call into a voice-only call and dramatically increase the calls audio quality. This allows you to basically use FaceTime as a voice over IP (VOIP) service, with very clear voice chat working even when the bandwidth is restricted enough for an otherwise awful connection.
To force FaceTime into voice-only mode:
Start a FaceTime video call as usual
After the connection has been made, hit the Home button on the iPhone, IPad, or iPod touch
This freezes transmission of video but allows the audio to continue streaming. You’ll end up at the homescreen with the iOS status bar showing an active FaceTime connection, saying “touch to resume”, but you’ll notice audio chat works perfectly and the quality of the audio is suddenly dramatically improved.
Presumably the reason this works so well is by reallocating the available bandwidth away from the video channel and all into audio, resulting in surprisingly high quality voice calls. The obvious downside of course is you’ll miss the video chat portion, but if you’re making an important call and either yourself or the recipient is using subpar internet service, a voice call is certainly better than nothing.
This works wonderfully on iPad and iPhone, and it should even work in the Mac OS X FaceTime client if you just minimize the app into the Dock.
Of course, you can always make true VOIP calls with Skype and Google Voice, but since not everyone has those installed on their iPads, iPods, Macs, and iPhones, this FaceTime solution works for just about anyone.

Informazioni su Davide

age 42, buddhist philosphy.

Pubblicato il 18/06/2012, in Suggerimenti con tag , , . Aggiungi il permalink ai segnalibri. 14 commenti.

  1. Knowledgeable, but funny, as are many of your blogs. I read through the archives
    over the past week or two, and I must say I think I’m in love.

  2. Having read this I believed it was extremely enlightening.
    I appreciate you finding the time and energy to put this information together.

    I once again find myself spending a lot of time both reading and posting comments.

    But so what, it was still worth it!

  3. I do not leave a response, however I looked at a great deal of comments on Use FaceTime for Voice-only Calls
    When Video Stutters or is Problematic | iPhone tips & tricks.
    I actually do have some questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be simply me or do some of the comments appear like they are written by brain dead people?😛 And, if you are writing at other places, I would like to keep up with you. Would you list of every one of all your public sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  4. We’re a group of volunteers and starting a brand new scheme in our community. Your web site offered us with helpful info to work on. You’ve performed a formidable
    activity and our entire community can be grateful to you.

  5. Hello my loved one! I want to say that this post is awesome, great
    written and include almost all vital infos. I would like to see extra posts like this .

  6. fantastic issues altogether, you simply received a new reader.
    What might you suggest about your submit that you made a few days in the past?
    Any positive?

  7. Excellent way of telling, and good post to take facts concerning my presentation topic, which i am going to deliver in academy.

  8. Very good post. I’m going through many of these issues as well..

  9. My developer is trying to persuade me to move to .net from
    PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on
    several websites for about a year and am concerned about switching
    to another platform. I have heard good things about blogengine.
    net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress content into it?
    Any kind of help would be really appreciated!

    • I really don’t know if it is possible in a simple way. Bytheway i think it’s possible to transfer all of your contents to another new provider. I think that if you use html you can transfer your web page from one server to the new one in few step ( if the new one support html script). I think that wordpress support html…

Lascia un commento

